Poe’s Dilemma- ALONE

 
  Edgar Allan Poe wrote this poem as a teenager. It is a real revelation for what was to come. It explains a lot about him and myself.
 
From childhood’s hour I have not been
 
as others were
 
I have not seen
 
as others saw
 
I could not bring
 
my passions from a common spring.
 
From the same source I have not taken my sorrow;
 
I could not awaken my heart to joy at the same tone
 
And all I loved, I loved alone.
 
 
Then – in my childhood –
 
in the dawn of a most stormy life
 
was drawn from every depth of good and ill
 
the mystery which binds me still.
 
From the torrent, or the fountain,
 
from the red cliff of the mountain,
 
from the sun that round me rolled
 
in its autumn tint of gold-
 
from the lightning in the sky
 
as it passed me flying by-
 
from the thunder and the storm,
 
and the cloud that took the form
 
(when the rest of Heaven was blue)
of a demon in my view.
 
 
 
  I saw old Autumn in the misty morn stand shadowless like silence, listening to silence. -Thomas Hood
 
 
 
 
The Castle Lady send her warmest  …
 
Gross Umarmung!  
About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

