The Poem I Promised You

                                                                                                                                                      
Meeting a friend unexpectedly can make the world seem small but
losing one can make it seem enormous.
Ashleigh Brilliant
 
Evelyn Hope
 
The poignancy of the theme- the death of a beautiful young girl- has made this exquisite poem much loved.
The conception that love does not die but lives and grows through other worlds is one which Browning often expressed. 
 
1
Beautiful Evelyn Hope is dead!
Sit and watch by her side an hour.
That is her book-shelf, this her bed;
She plucked that piece of geranium-flower;
Beginning to die too, in the glass;
Little has yet been changed, I think;
The shutters are shut, no light may pass
Save two long rays thro’ the hinge’s chink.
 
2
Sixteen years old when she died!
Perhaps she had scarcely heard my name;
It was not her time to love; besides,
Her life had many a hope and aim,
Duties enough and little cares,
And now was quiet, now astir,
Till God’s hand beckoned unawares,-
And the sweet white brow is all of her.
 
3
Is it too late then, Evelyn Hope?
What, your soul was pure and true,
The good stars met in your horoscope,
Made you of spirit, fire and dew-
And, just because I was thrice as old
And our paths in the world diverged so wide,
Each was nought to each, must I be told?
We were fellow mortals, nought beside?
 
4
No, indeed! for God above
Is great to grant, as mighty to make,
And creates the love to reward the love;
I claim you still, for my own love’s sake!
Delayed it may be for more lives yet,
Through worlds I shall traverse, not a few;
Much is to learn, much to forget
Ere the time be come for taking you.
 
5
But the time will come,- at last it will,
When, Evelyn Hope, what meant ( I shall say)
In the lower earth, in the years long still,
That body and soul so pure and gay?
Why your hair was amber, I shall divine,
And your mouth of your own geranium’s red-
And what you would do with me, in fine,
In the new life come in the old one’s stead.
 
6
I have lived (I shall say) so much since then,
Given up myself so many times,
Gained me the gains of various men,
Ransacked the ages, spoiled the climes;
Yet one thing, one, in my soul’s full scope,
Either I missed or itself missed me;
And I want and find you, Evelyn Hope!
What is the issue? let us see!
 
7
I loved you, Evelyn, all the while, 
My heart seemed full as it could hold?
There was place and to spare for the frank young smile,
And the red young mouth, and the hair’s young gold.
So, hush,- I will give you this leaf to keep;
See, I shut it inside the sweet cold hand!
There, that is our secret; go to sleep!
You will wake, and remember, and understand.
 
The Castle Lady sends all her   your way! Fait des beau reves!

                        It’s never too late for love….. ever ! ! ! Believe it ! 

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Poem I Promised You

  1. Evelyn says:

     I have often read many quotes and various articles by men and women alike which insist that a man and a woman cannot be platonic friends who love each other. Ivan Mestrovic wrote a very compelling statement on that very subject. My strong opinion about this is otherwise, but it is true that this relationship is doomed not by their impulses (which anyone can control if the truth be known!) it is simply that the world WON\’T LET THEM!
     
                                                                                         Evelyn Wallace , The Castle Lady >k<

    Like

  2. Goumiliov says:

    Nice profil … -__-

    Like

  3. Tora says:

    Hi Evelyn and thanks for dropping by my space again. As you can see I\’ve not been keeping it up to date as I\’ve found a new hobby to keep me busy. I have some silly things that I\’m going to put up this weekend and also another daily digest.
     
    The link you are looking for is here:
    http://whatplanetareyoufrom.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!9A406125CF25AF32!2674.entry
     
    I didn\’t realize I had it barried so deep and it was named differently than what I thought. Anywho, thanks again for dropping by.
     
    peace out, girlscout! ~tora

    Like

  4. Ste says:

    Hi Evelyn,
            thanks for popping by and leaving your kind words in my space. Sorry I haven\’t been around much lately. I\’ve got a lot of catching up to do with my space friends. I\’ll set aside some time this next week to try and get around to everybody, but since you\’ve so kind to visit, I thought I\’d do you now, as it were.
            I trust I find you well, and enjoying life to the full. I\’ve enjoyed reading your blogs about Yorkshire. As a Yorkshireman myself, I find it amazing to read about all the things that I never knew were on my very own doorstep. I really must get out more….. lol
     
    Love & Laughter to you and yours,
    Steve
    xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

