My Heart’s in the Highlands

Farewell to the Highlands, farewell to the North,
The birthplace of valor, the country of worth;
Wherever I wander, wherever I rove,
The hills of the Highlands forever I love.
 
My heart’s in the Highlands, my heart is not here;
My heart’s in the Highlands, achasing the deer;
Achasing the wild deer, and following the roe,
My hearts’ in the Highlands wherever I go.
 
Farewell to the mountains, high-covered with snow;
Farewell to the straths and green valleys below;
Farewell to the forests and wild-hanging woods,
Farewell to the torrents and loud-pouring floods.
 
My heart’s in the Highlands, my heart is not here;
My heart’s in the Highlands, achasing the deer;
Achasing the wild deer, and following the roe,
My heart’s in the Highlands wherever I go.
 
Robert Burns
(1759-1796)
 
Robert Burns didn’t make up his mind to call himself a poet until the age of twenty-seven and only lived to be thirty-seven. In spite of growing up and barely escaping life on a farm and eventually succumbing to poverty in the end, his verses showed his passion for life and the joy of simple pleasures. He still is the voice of Scottish national pride and his poems ring like songs in your head forever.
 
 
   The Castle Lady sends a kiss flying your way! 
   Here is Killua Castle, an Irish ruin. It’s hollowed out but is used as a movie backdrop!
                              Happy St. Patty’s Day! Top o’ the mornin’  etc.                   

www.ilovecastles.com       We are all citizens of history. – Clifton Fadiman (1904-1999)

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Heart’s in the Highlands

  1. belle says:

    coucou je vient prendre de tes nouvelle est te faire un gros bisous du we marie

    Like

  2. DJ says:

    Hello ma petite chérie, je te remercie pour notre belle discussion sur msn et je te dis à bientôt.
    Gros kiss à toi…
    @ bientôt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

