Fern and Bamboo

                 
 
            
This isn’t poetry, per se, but I liked the imagery conveyed in this e-mail sent to me by a good friend:
 
   One day I decided to quit. I wanted to quit my job, quit my relationships, quit my spirituality and even my life. I went to the woods to have one last talk with God.
     "God," I said," Can you give me one good reason not to quit?" His answer surprised me.
     "Look around", He said, "Do you see the fern and the bamboo?"
     "Yes," I replied.
     "When I planted the fern and the bamboo seeds, I took very good care of them. I gave them light, and I gave them water. The fern quickly grew from the earth. Its brilliant green covered the floor. Yet nothing came from the bamboo seed. But I did not quit on the bamboo. In the second year the fern grew more vibrant and plentiful. Again, nothing came from the bamboo seed. I did not quit on the bamboo. In the third year there was still nothing from the bamboo seed. I did not give up. In the fourth year there was still nothing from the bamboo seed but decided not to quit on the bamboo.I still gave it light and water. Then in the fifth year a tiny sprout emerged from the earth. Compared to the fern it was seemingly small and insignificant. Just six months later the bamboo rose to over a hundred feet tall. It had spent the five years growing roots. Those roots made it strong and gave it what it needed to survive. I would not give any of my creations a challenge they could not handle. Did you know, my child, that all this time you have been struggling you have actually been growing roots? I would not quit on the bamboo and I will never quit on you! Don’t compare yourself to others. The bamboo had a different purpose than the fern, yet they both make the forest beautiful. Your time will come. You will rise high."
     "How high should I rise?" I asked.
     "How high will the bamboo rise?" , He asked in return.
     "As high as it can?" I questioned.
     "Yes," He said, "give me glory by rising as high as you can Remember…I will never leave you , nor forsake you. I will never give up on you. I will never, ever quit on you."
     If you are struggling and have many obstacles in your path on your journey in life just remember what God said about the bamboo. We’re just growing roots!
The Castle Lady is rooting for you with a big grin and
SWALK! hee hee hee! 

 
       

The first in my series of books, "The Castle Lover’s Guides" ™  will be  "The Castle Lover’s Guide to England and Wales". It will cover all castles and castellated manors, museums and hotels which pass my stringent requirements for availability, friendliness, comfort and excitement.
 
I have been relentless in my pursuit to find the finest accommodations in castle hotels and the most exciting castle museums and castle sites -ruined or restored-  worth seeing.
 
It will be a wonderful guide for the adventurous soul who loves the idea of exploring castles and staying in a castle. What’s more romantic than that, I ask you? Okay, getting married in one! That information will be included too!
                  -Your Ever Devoted, Castle Lady!
 
 
 Aim at being loved without being admired. – Ludwig Wittgenstein
 
Proverb du Jour:  As a man thinks in his heart, that’s what he will be.- Proverbs 23:7a
 

          
About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Lest we forget and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fern and Bamboo

  1. Unknown says:

    ciao…
     
                    un grosssssssssso bacio al mio amore!!!!!!!!!!
     
     
    ______________francesco_______________________

    Like

  2. belle says:

    coucou je te souhaite une douce nuit gros bisous marie

    Like

  3. Tina says:

    thanx for the comment, gtg sleep, read your blog tomorrow!

    Like

  4. Gerry says:

    Hi Evelyn
     
    I did get around to reading your book and very much enjoyed it. It comes at worship from a different angle than most others. I like how you guide the reader through the steps they need to take in order to become a true worshipper. Much of the church misses out on what God has for them and the power because they have made worship a form of religion instead of an act of love and surrender. Many churches have become powerless because they see worship as something you do on Sunday when in truth worship is not only the songs you sing but everything that you do, not only on Sunday but everyday of the week. 
     
    You are a gifted writer. Thank you for sending it to me. I hope you don\’t mind me quoting from it in any messages I may bring to our congregation.
     
    I pray God blesses you with you castle series.
    In His Grace
    Gerry Desjardins                    

    Like

  5. Evelyn says:

    Hi Gerry! I hope you don\’t mind me being informal! I would be delighted if you wish to quote from the book to your congregations. I agree with everything you said in your commentary. I have spoken with people about their work being a testimony of the level of worship they deliver to Christ. It takes awhile but eventually they understand. This is such a busy world and there are hungry souls all around us.
                                                                                    Evelyn , The Castle Lady

    Like

Leave a Reply

