Secret

                 
a poem from Seasons of the Heart my first published book of poetry
 
The lazy afternoon sighed 
and whispered in my ear today,                          
                     and asked me 
                                         my secret of happiness.
                 He startled me quite,
                                           for he was usually so quiet and
                                                                                      seemed
to know all the answers in his peculiar languid world.
Suddenly, his question disoriented
my very being
and sent me into the strange 
world of my dreams
because I couldn’t answer his disturbing challenge.
It was necessary that I answer, 
however,
so I merely
and vaguely said, 
“Life itself, 
my dear sir, is the secret of happiness.”
He smiled from ear to ear,
                                                                      tipped his hat, 
 
said, “Thank You” and went along his lazy way. 
 
 
Copyright 1988 by Evelyn M. Wallace
Published by Saxifrage Books
 
First Edition copies can be obtained from me. 
 
 
Just google me to find out my e-mail ! 
Perfect as a Valentine’s Day gift !  
    
My love for you is no secret ! 
The Castle Lady
About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Secret

  1. puzzle says:

    So the afternoon is male? must be kind of a Tom-cat … no, you said, he has a hat … however: a nice poem. 🙂

    Like

  2. Theresa says:

    Enjoyed that !

    Like

  3. kïrstin says:

    nice visual 🙂 and i love the pink boxing gloves. puts a new light on victorias secret ;)kïrstin♥

    Like

  4. Evelyn says:

    I\’m glad you liked the poem. A cat with a hat- yes, I can see that,too. I love to see people\’s reactions to my poems because each opinion is valid. I thought the boxing gloves would balance it out and I couldn\’t resist using Victoria\’s Secret of course. 😄 LOL Thanks everybody ! The Castle Lady btw Kirstin I love your blogspot blog!

    Like

  5. Leona says:

    Ummm…interesting! so the lazy afternoon sighed and whispered in your ear? I like that, I like that. I especially like your response to "him" – Life itself. This is so soothing. Thank you so much for sharing your poetry.

    Like

  6. Windows Live says:

    Beautiful poem J\’aime beaucoup, thank you All my deepest friendships I embrace you with all my heart Your friend Michael

    Like

  7. Danyel says:

    It\’s nice to read you on my space. I\’ve closed some of them. Thanks and friendly yours. Danyel

    Like

  8. Mei's says:

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful Castle! 🙂 Mei

    Like

Leave a Reply

