Untrodden Ways

                   
She dwelt among the untrodden ways
Beside the springs of Dove,
A maid whom there were none to praise
And very few to love;
A violet by a mossy stone
Half hidden from the eye!
-Fair as a star when only one
Is shining in the sky.
She lived unknown, and few could know
When Lucy ceased to be;
But she is in her grave and, oh,
The difference to me!
 
William Wordsworth
                         
The Castle Lady with kisses that make a difference!
Proverb du Jour: All real living is meeting.- Martin Buber
 
 
 
About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Untrodden Ways

  1. Unknown says:

    My young daughter studies poems as part of her English course and among the poets is William Wordsworth. I like his poems. They are easy to read and understand.

    Like

  2. Douglas says:

    That is so different than I write it is like the opposite directions of the universe across seas of time and space in reading this. Thanks for sharing, and I was so hoping that this was yours.Kisses do make a difference, they\’re bullets that penetrate the darkness, stitches for the brokenhearted, and the rains that flurishes the desert of the soul — Yeah, this is all mine — I know, I am all that at one time or another.It is good that I came here today…

    Like

  3. Theresa says:

    This was oddly refreshing for me. I felt peaceful reading this.

    Like

  4. Evelyn says:

    Interestingly, Doug, my creative writing teacher in High School used to compare my writing to Wordsworth so naturally I studied him. The attributes of my poetry and his are vastly different though and not just in form but we do tend to choose natural settings and nature itself- even giving nature human characteristics. In that we are alike. I have since committed many of his best to memory. This is one. There are a few others of his on this blog and one written to another poet but often attributed to having been written about a woman…..; ) Glad every one liked this as Wordsworth is the quinessential poet to me. I don\’t like most poetry but I love this! The Castle Lady

    Like

  5. Evelyn says:

    Oh, by the way, this time the art work is mine. One of my feverish and quick inspirations. I may put my art work back up on this blog but I don\’t think of myself as an artist.

    Like

  6. MAGIC JP says:

    Hello !Thank\’s for the little com on my blog !I\’m very happy to "see" you ! , By MJP***

    Like

  7. Leona says:

    Thanks for the memories, Evelyn. I read William Wordsworth frequently as a teenager and young woman. Sadly, I haven\’t read anything of his for quite a long time, too long. I don\’t remember this particular one though. How are things going? I hope all is well with you. Have a good Sunday and a nice week ahead.

    Like

Leave a Reply

