The Wraggle Taggle Gypsies

As a child my favorite Halloween costume was my homemade gypsy outfit…. 
             
 
A Scottish Ballad
There were three gypsies a-come to my door,
And downstairs ran my lady-o.
One sang high and another sang low
And the other sang bonny bonny Biscay, O !
Then she pulled off her silken gown,
And put on hose of leather-o
And a bright red gown and a ragged apron
And she’s gone with the wraggle-taggle gypsies, O!
 
What makes you leave your house and land?
What makes you leave your money-O?
What makes you leave your loving friends,
To follow the wraggle-taggle gypsies-O?
 
What care I for my house and land?
What care I for my money-O?
What care I for my loving friends?
I’m off with the wraggle-taggle gypsies, O!
 
Silken kisses from The Castle Lady !
 
 
About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wraggle Taggle Gypsies

  1. Douglas says:

    Wow Evelyn this is so not me at all. I mean talking about the opposite end of the spectrum. Is this something that you have written? I mean gosh, I am blasted by a bright light into my very dark office… WTF?I am thinking this is "traditional?" Well, almost, kind of…

    Like

  2. Evelyn says:

    It rather tugs doesn\’t it ? That\’s because we\’re Scots-o ! ; ) I also know this old hillbilly song that was taught to me by my third grade teacher which has roots in Scots gaelic. I have no idea what I\’m saying when I sing it but it\’s carved on my brain. I don\’t even know how to spell it so I only know it phonetically. I\’d research it if I knew what to type in my browser ! To my lion roaring in the wilderness ~ A big, wet kiss ! ; )

    Like

Leave a Reply

