Goodbye to Summer

 

                            
It’s hard to say goodbye to summer
 
the water on the rocks beats on
in rhythm to a low lying wind
                                           
that caresses our skin and fills our hair 
with memories of an earlier rhyme
 
when our hearts still searched for a place to share
a lofty lair with a misty clime.
Laughing at the olden ways
                               
 
amid the pounding heat
which still purveys something sweet
                             leaving a scent that lingers for days…
 
                                                                             and makes me stretch out my hand for time…
                                              more time.
 
By Evelyn M. Wallace
All Rights Reserved by author
August 28, 2009
 
 With fond kisses, The Castle Lady
 

    We’ll never forget the summer of love….

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Goodbye to Summer

  1. puzzle says:

    Your nice and colourful \’good-bye to summer\’ makes me waiting for your \’hello to fall\’ 🙂

    Like

  2. Francesca says:

    Summer is fun, autumn is beautiful – just like your lyric : )

    Like

  3. Evelyn says:

    I\’m so glad you enjoyed this as much as I enjoyed writing it. The Castle Lady with lots of kisses all around ! ; )

    Like

  4. Douglas says:

    It seems that up here in the Black Hills, it\’s been Spring, a couple of days of Summer, and going right into my favorite season, Autumn.

    Like

  5. Evelyn says:

    Now this is interesting. I\’ve always been rather partial to autumn as well. It appears to be unanimous. What inspired this piece was the swirling of words around in my head that spilled out onto an entry. No kidding. Someone had to write it… glad it was me. Thanks my darling lion! Kissing ….. mwah, mwah, mwah ! ; )

    Like

  6. Keith says:

    Not hard for me. I love Fall and Winter! Don\’t like heat and sun all the time (that\’s all we get in Southern California).

    Like

  7. Evelyn says:

    Having lived in San Diego for a number of years I have found out personally that it can eventually get boring but I did love the weather there~ perfect. It seemed like it never got above 75 degrees. I miss it sometimes….

    Like

  8. Keith says:

    San Diego is nice. I\’ve felt a few hot days there before, but it is usually very mild there. I love San Diego.

    Like

  9. Aerilyn says:

    It\’s quite cool here I\’m just waiting for the snow… we already had our first frost… I love summer just not th humidity that it brings.. my asthma sucks. Hope all is well and Blessed Be.

    Like

  10. Leona says:

    Lovely lovely tribute to the passing of summer. It\’s very touching, I can see, hear, and smell every detail through your eyes and your description. Very good poetry. HOWEVER, I do not like summer. Do not like anything about it. Not the heat. Not the humidity. Definitely not those pesky mosquitoes. Texas HEAT is a monster, a killer!Spring, fall and winter are my favorites (because our winters are not usually very harsh. And, I love rain — not floods — plain rain. Okay, enough from dellgirl.I hope you have a fantastic week.

    Like

  11. Evelyn says:

    Yes. I can see why a Texan wouldn\’t care for summer much and if it\’s anything like Scottsdale in summer I feel for you. I experienced that first hand one year in the middle of June. I kept waiting for night and looking forward to it and I walked out to the pool and got hit in the face with the hottest air I have ever felt ! What a shock. It cools down in Colorado AND California at night but it shocked me to my core to find that night time was even hotter. I beat it back to my hotel room where the air conditioning was going full blast ! LOL Thanks everyone for stopping by and commenting. It\’s always a pleasure to see your comments ! ; )

    Like

Leave a Reply

