Two Poems for a Crow

                      
As I wandered the forest,
The green leaves among,
I heard a Wild Flower
Singing a song.
 
I slept in the Earth
In the silent night,
I murmured my fears
And I felt delight.
 
In the morning I went,
As rosy as morn,
To seek for new Joy;
But I met with scorn.
 
William Blake
 
(born Nov. 28, 1757 in Golden Square, London
died August 1827)
 
‘and did those feet in ancient time walk upon England’s mountains green…’
 
 
 
Dust of Snow
 
The way a crow
Shook down on me
The dust of snow
From a hemlock tree
 
Has given my heart
A change of mood
And saved some part
Of a day I had rued.
 
Robert Frost
(1874-1963)
 
You won’t rue my kisses !
The Castle Lady
The reproduction of the painting of the corvine above was done by Rudi Hurzlmeier.
It is classified as absurdist, but I think it’s delightful and a great way
to usher in impending Autumn ! 
 

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Arts, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Two Poems for a Crow

  1. puzzle says:

    I am not in the mood for snow yet, because it is still summerly warm here – but the poem of William Blake is a pleasure.

    Like

  2. Evelyn says:

    Right on time with my poem the weather has turned quite cold and rainy where I am so it makes sense, certainly, for me. It will probably go back to warm by next week but it is refreshing. It is snowing in the mountains where I am from so I\’m looking forward to going home. I love William Blake, too ! hug ! kiss!

    Like

  3. Douglas says:

    It already snowed in the higher elevations here in the "Little Alps" the other day. Foggy, drizzling, and of course very damp. Heard a Mountain lion earlier in the morning then drowned out by some idiot on a Harley. I was kind of hoping that the Mountain Lion would have "downed" the chimp in leather myself.Sweetie, I was kind of hoping for something original by you, or something by Edgar Allen Poe type this "mourning" before I go and terrorize the neighborhood and community.Best Wishes!!!!

    Like

  4. Evelyn says:

    Are you roaring at your neighbors again? Tsk. Tsk. What will I ever do with you my irrepressible lion ? I wouldn\’t repress you for anything sweets ! When I saw this artwork for the crow I thought of you. He\’s so cool in those boots ! Big hugs and kisses !

    Like

  5. Leona says:

    We are just getting pleasantly cool weather, nothing major just not so hot. I don\’t want snow though, we never get enough to amount to anything. Not even a good snowball. Ironic how one poem ends with seeking joy and finding scorn and the other ends with a change of mood (from perhaps sadness to joy).I\’m not anywhere near catching up on my blogging and visiting but, I am working on it. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

  6. Evelyn says:

    I did like the contrast of the two poems. It seemed like I needed to do that concerning crows. They can be awfully curious creatures especially for birds ! Seeing that crow just makes me giggle. He\’s so cool but he\’s kind of lost in his own world ! No snow here yet, just a lot of rain. I like that. It means I don\’t have to water ! ; )

    Like

  7. Douglas says:

    Thanks Evelyn… In the boots, now just put in a cigarette and a cup of Joe and you would have nailed me on most days!Seriously, I am not into poems, but in your own way, you\’re changing that. Later that day that I posted my original comment here, I was flagged by a woman in Europe and she wrote a real dark poem which entranced me. Still you\’re exposing me to new things — New being for me.Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

