Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal

     These lyrics were originally a poem written by Alfred Lord Tennyson published in 1847 in his collection titled, The Princess: A Medley. I first heard this as a song in Mychael Danna’s version in the film Vanity Fair which starred Reese Witherspoon as Becky Sharp. It is the darkest version of it written- with a heavy Asian pentatonic melody and I encourage one and all to have a listen with the link I’ve provided. The lyrics alone speak for themselves, however. It is not a happy poem but it is hopeful.
– The Castle Lady
            

Now sleeps the crimson petal, now the white;

Nor waves the cypress in the palace walk;

Nor winks the gold fin in the porphyry font:

The firefly wakens: waken thou with me

Now droops the milk white peacock like a ghost,

And like a ghost she glimmers on to me.

Now lies the Earth all Danae to the stars,

And all thy heart lies open unto me.

Now slides the silent meteor on, and leaves

A shining furrow, as thy thoughts in me.

Now folds the lily all her sweetness up,

And slips into the bosom of the lake:

So fold thyself, my dearest, thou, and slip

Into my bosom and be lost in me.

                               

With exquisite kisses for all my loves near and far…

 The Castle Lady

 http://www.bing.com/videos/watch/video/vanity-fair-now-sleeps-the-crimson-petal/

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal

  1. carolyn says:

    Evelyn, i hate what they did to my yellow submarine. Do you like this wordpress??

    Like

  2. Evelyn says:

    I am not really too keen on this change. I think they\’re just trying to give us the heave-ho (wink ! wink ! ) After you\’ve had Live Spaces blogs as long as we have you\’d think they would just let us run it ourselves. LOL WordPress is a good choice for those who don\’t care about the landscape they write on. It can show how serious the writing is, though. I\’m still mulling it over. kisses ! Hugs !

    Like

Leave a Reply

