An Anthem for Anthony

During the years that I have followed basketball closely and even during times when I didn’t follow it so closely I don’t think I have a single player in memory that exudes such charm, displays such obvious talent or sparks so much controversy as Carmelo Anthony. I remember players such as Dennis Rodman- a colorful type, to say the least. The legend that is Michael Jordan is unshakeable. Alex English wasn’t just a basketball player, he was an extraordinary human being with his poetry and causes. I saw Mutumbo once at a mall movie theatre and he bowled me over by his size and affability. The individuality of the players seems to be the nature of the game itself.
There is just something extra special about Melo and he incites either deep admiration from people or flat out jealousy. I think the best basic description came from a letter of an obvious fan published in the Denver Post the week that he was traded by the Nuggets to the New York Knicks:

As a longtime Nuggets fan, I would like to thank Carmelo Anthony for seven great years as a Nugget. Melo always showed up in shape, played hard, made his free throws, wanted the ball when the game was on the line, and often delivered the winning shot. He played every game like the pro he is, especially this year. He fulfilled his contract with class, enabling the Nuggets to get great value and ensuring them continued success.
The Nuggets won 17 games the year before drafting Carmelo. Since then, the Nuggets have never missed the playoffs. Melo gave Denver a team to be proud of the past seven years, now, and in the future.
Thank you, it’s been fun to watch you play.
-Jim Weber, Littleton

If you think Melo was too busy to notice this small tribute you would be wrong. He is very happy to be where he is in New York. It was his dream to play closer to home. I remind myself that he lost a dear sister less than two months ago while all the so-called Melodrama was in full swing. It must have been bittersweet to finally be back where he might be more comfortable. Ten days after he was traded on February 23rd he put up the following notice on his own web site and I knew that he had risen above the nonsense booing and panning of his achievements here by people who were something less than fans:

I had to let you know how I felt about you, the city, my fans, my friends. You’ve been supportive of me and my NBA career for the past 8 years, and that doesn’t go unnoticed.
Drafted when I was 19, I called Denver and the Nuggets my home. The city and the fans embraced me and watched me grow as a man and a player.
There are no words to express the gratitude and appreciation I have for Denver, the Nuggets and all the fans.
You will always be part of my heart.
One Love,
Melo

http://thisismelo.com/news/26271

In his final game with the Nuggets, Melo scored 38 points for the Nuggets winning against the Bucks 94-87. Offensive playing may not be the only aspect of playing basketball but it is a definite part of winning games and I have shown plenty of evidence of the great defensive pair Melo and Chauncey are in photos on the Nuggets albums I have posted. This is most likely why they were a great trade along with three other Nuggets who are outstanding. Carmelo’s highest scoring games have been multitude:

50 points against Houston Rockets, February 7, 2011
50 points against New York Knicks, November 27, 2009 !
49 points against Washington Wizards, February 8, 2008
47 points against Sacramento Kings, April 5, 2008
45 points against Philadelphia 76rs, December 27, 2005
45 points against Minnesota Timberwolves, December 10, 2008
45 points against Houston Rockets, March 15, 2010

My personal appreciation for him went beyond his offensive playing, however. I think his attitude has been outstanding through many negative aspects of being in professional sports. I agree with Jim Weber that it has been a pleasure to watch him on our Nuggets team and I wish him future happiness in all his endeavors on and off the court. Thanks for giving Denver great memories. You will be missed and certainly not forgotten.

God Bless You and Keep You,

The Castle Lady

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Games. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Anthem for Anthony

  1. coucou evelyne
    bon je dois bien dire que j’y connais pas grand chose dans le basket
    mais toi tu en parles comme une vraie fan et je me laisse porter par tes mots les concernant ces joueurs que tu as apprécié voir sur le terrain
    bisous à toi evelyne

    Like

Leave a Reply

