In Memory of Mother

I remember thee in this solemn hour, my dear mother.

I remember the days when thou didst dwell on earth,

and thy tender love watched over me

like a guardian angel.

Thou hast gone from me,

but the bond which unites our souls can never be severed:

thine image lives within my heart.

“May the merciful Father reward thee for the faithfulness and kindness thou has ever shown me;

may he lift up the light of his countenance upon thee and grant thee eternal peace.

Amen.”

I found this poem in among my mother’s effects and papers and was so touched by it that I decided to put this up today. It made me cry and then I felt strangely better afterward. I’ve always felt that crying isn’t healthy until today. I needed to read that and it was almost as if I was guided to find it. If you feel led to please write a comment. She was really also my best friend and I miss her terribly but I also feel her in and around me. I know she’s become an angel. She started out life as an earth angel and now she’s a heavenly one.
                   The Castle Lady

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Memory of Mother

  1. coucou Evelyn
    comme ce texte est beau
    tu as bien fait de le mettre et de nous le faire lire car ce sont des mots de toute beauté
    bisous Miss Evelyn et bon dimanche

    Like

  2. Evelyn says:

    Cher Gael ! C’est bien a` te lire tes mots gentil ! ! Ceux ya presquement tel cher tel poesie ! J’espere tu va bien. Garde ton sante’, hien ? ; )

    Like

  3. Evelyn says:

    Thank you Kirsten for the like and also your precious words on my Mom’s memorial web site. My family were all touched by your words and wanted to know who Kirsten was and how we knew you. It’s true that you are my best friend on the internet. We understand each other very well I believe ! I am bound to have some drastic life changes myself the remainder of this year. Keep me in your prayers will you ? I’ll be checking in on you in all the familiar places ! ; )

    Like

  4. Richard says:

    Dear Evelyn,
    I love the poem in your blog, especially the phrase “the bond which unites our souls can never be severed”.There is a special bond between a mother and her children. I know this very well myself, as I always think of my late mother who died 23 years ago. From time to time I quote some of her famous sayings to my own children, who are in fact adults now. Fond memories live on. May your mother rest in peace!
    Richard ( an old friend from London)

    Like

    • Evelyn says:

      I’m so glad to hear from you Richard. I recently lost my mother. She passed on Oct 9 and I’m still not used to her absence. This will take some time but it always helps when you hear from good friends. How are your daughters doing by the way ? Good I hope. Thanks for the nice words.

      ; ) Evelyn

      Like

Leave a Reply

