Nobody’s Friend

As this is officially the ides of March I contemplated what a good poem would be, in celebration. On this very day, forty-four years before the birth of Jesus Christ, the Roman emperor, Julius Caesar, was assassinated by a group of Roman nobles among which was his so-called friend Brutus. The only person more dangerous than a murderer is a gossip so I am supplying the following ‘poem’ which has been very popular through the years- being printed in newspaper columns and forums continually. I decided this was a perfect time for a fresh reminder. The Castle Lady

castle_storm

My name is Gossip. I have no respect for justice.
I maim without killing. I break hearts and ruin lives.
I am cunning and malicious and gather strength with age.

 

 

social_network
The more I am quoted, the more I am believed.
My victims are helpless.
They cannot protect themselves against me, because I have no name or face.

sherlock
To track me down is impossible. The harder you try, the more elusive I become.
I am nobody’s friend.
Once I tarnish a reputation, it is never the same.
I topple governments and wreck marriages.
I ruin careers and cause sleepless nights, heartaches and indigestion.
I make innocent people cry in their pillows.
Even my name hisses.  Queen_evil_tn
I am called Gossip. I make headlines and headaches.  

Before you repeat a story, ask yourself:
Is it true?
Is it harmless?
Is it necessary?
If it isn’t, don’t repeat it.

The buck stops here,

castle_shh

The Castle Lady

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nobody’s Friend

  1. NB says:

    It’s almost hard to argue
    with you (not that I personally will need to…Ha Ha ; )

    You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject that has been written about for
    many years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

