The Wonderful World of Books

Blonde_read

For the first four years of my life I started out an observer. I don’t recall being much of a participant in life but I was, of course, a passive cooperative nonetheless even though I wasn’t aware of it at the time. My brother Tim, who is the closest in age to me of all my siblings, was the key person in my life who introduced me to books. I have been hooked ever since he brought home two books for me from the library. One was Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and I don’t remember what the other one was but thereafter I proceeded to get my own library card and we made regular stops after school at the bookmobile that showed up at the shopping center close to our house each week.

Blonde_Book2

167836421Before that, my mother read all my books to me and I was more than ready for first grade by the time I got to that point in life. Whereas most of the kids hadn’t learned to read yet and were still learning the alphabet I was speed reading through all the books in front of me. It took my first grade teacher awhile to catch on, however. She was ready to write me off as a dumkopf until I read two pages of text like I’d memorized the book that my class was going through at the time. (I thought Dick was very stupid, Jane was a genius and the dog…well…)

ga120903_fr_2ga120903_fr_1
This is why you’ll have to understand why I still prefer to read books as opposed to owning a Kindle or Nook or using another device. I do use them to a certain extent but I still prefer to lay back on a couch with a book firmly pressed to my upper chest in a secluded spot away from the noise and bustle of the world and relax. Every once in a while I’ll get an audiobook so I can listen to a book when I’m walking, sewing or cooking. That’s a fine way to catch up on certain books but I would rather read certain technical material in printed form. Somehow the tough stuff just sinks in better that way.

ga120903
Book ownership is even better than perusing the library offerings. I am the proud owner of no less than 2,500 books. I stopped buying books because I have no place to put any more and the library is always available and well stocked. Of those books in my library I would probably only sacrifice about 500 if I had to and someday it may be the most difficult act of my life to get rid of them. Books are my friends. Compris ?

castlereadlight
That being said, I would urge everyone that is willing to go back to reading an actual book, to do so, posthaste. There is no other thing in the world quite like a good book and once you go back to reading something with a hard or paper cover on it you’ll wonder why you didn’t think of owning books before. Try purchasing some literary classics and reading them several times. Warning: You will get hooked on books…I guarantee it.
www.loa.org

Reading y’all like a book,

Castle_morningsThe Castle Lady

The world is a book and those who don’t travel read only one page.
-St. Augustine

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Wonderful World of Books

  1. un petit bonsoir chez toi Evelyn
    bon j’t’oublie pas pour le livre que tu m’as demandé
    mais j’ai un peu de mal à mettre la main sur un pour l’instant
    j’vais fouiller un peu sur le net un peu plus
    bisous Evelyn

    Like

    • Evelyn says:

      J’en ai confidence complet pour ton fouiller- ce n’est necessaire pas pour t’e’lancer. C’est gentille etre en tes pensees. Merci pour l’effort et plusiers des bisous a` toi ! ; )

      Like

  2. Leary says:

    Thank you, I’ve just been searching for information like this for a long time and yours is the greatest. You are so intelligent.

    Like

  3. Evelyn says:

    Thanks for all the likes everybody. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it. My favorite subject ! Yes !

    Like

Leave a Reply

