Abou Ben Adhem

For Holocaust Remembrance Day I thought the following poem would be a delightful way to celebrate since I believe that the Jewish people prevailed and will continue so. Enjoy this wonderful poem in memoriam. The Castle Lady

by James Henry Leigh Hunt
(Born October 19, 1784; died August 28, 1859)

Angel_N_Testam

Abou Ben Adhem (may his tribe increase!)
Awoke one night from a deep dream of peace,
And saw, within the moonlight in his room,
Making it rich, and like a lily in bloom,
An Angel writing in a book of gold:
Exceeding peace had made Ben Adhem bold,
And to the Presence in the room he said,
“What writest thou?” The Vision raised its head,
And with a look made of all sweet accord
Answered, “The names of those who love the Lord.”
“And is mine one ?” said Abou. “Nay, not so,”
Replied the Angel. Abou spoke more low,
But cheerily still; and said, “I pray thee, then,
Write me as one that loves his fellow men.”

The angel wrote, and vanished. The next night
It came again with a great wakening light,
And showed the names whom love of God had blessed
And, lo! Ben Adhem’s name led all the rest.

With angelic love for all,

The Castle LadyAngel_BH_VicTradCo

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Lest we forget, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Abou Ben Adhem

  1. Wayne Shelton says:

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent blog!

    Like

  2. Raquel says:

    Thankfulness to my father who stated to me on the topic
    of this web site, this webpage is truly remarkable.

    Like

  3. Instant says:

    Excellent blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that
    I’m totally overwhelmed. Any tips? Appreciate it!

    Like

    • Evelyn says:

      I have a lot of blogs for various different reasons but I consider this my main interest blog. Word Press is the best I have used. There will be a lot to learn but you’ll have all the tools you need to do it. Good luck !
      The Castle Lady

      Like

Leave a Reply

