A Great Mom

The following is from a card I gave to my mother on Mother’s Day back in 2011. I did not know it would be the next to the last Mother’s Day card I would give her but I’m so happy I was able to convey these words before she left this world:

Mom_Ode_12Being a great Mom is not a skill that can be acquired at some university.

It can’t be learned from a book or measured by a salary.

Yet being a great mom is probably the single most important contribution anybody could make to this world.

I should know.

Because I have you, a truly great mom.

I can’t imagine a force more powerful,

 a love more valuable,

 or a gift more lasting.

My grateful heart is living proof of that.

Image

 

The Castle Lady

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in A General Announcement, Lest we forget, Life as poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Great Mom

  1. Mahesh Nair says:

    I’m extremely sorry for your loss. This is beautifully written – it strikes a chord in my heart. She must be proud of you. Take care!

    Like

    • Evelyn says:

      Thank you for the kind words. They mean so much to me. I feel she was not only an exceptionally good mother but was also a very special person. I miss having her in my everyday life but I know she has gone on to something better and that makes me happy.

      Like

  2. des mots d’une grande tendresse pour ta maman !
    je t’embrasse affectueusement Evelyn
    bon dimanche à toi

    Like

Leave a Reply

