Quotes to Live By

Quotes can be uneven. Not all are really true. Not all are truly wise. Some just make you laugh while others can sometimes make you want to cry. The quotes I love best open up my mind the way a bee opens a flower when it is in the process of extracting pollen. They fulfill something inside that you always knew as a truth but somehow your mind was never quite able to express it. I love when that happens, don’t you ? I hope you will be edified by this sampling. The Castle Lady

spa-roseA bit of fragrance always clings to the hand that gives roses.
-a Chinese Proverb

We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.
– Epictetus

You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

You cannot live a perfect day without doing something for someone who will never be able to repay you.
-John Wooden

TowerBridge_tnWhen a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford.
– Samuel Johnson

CastleLady_Love_Valen

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Proverbe du Jour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quotes to Live By

  1. Richard says:

    Evelyn,
    I like all of the quotes listed above, especially the one by Ralph Waldo Emerson “You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.”

    Life is precious and time waits for no one. We should all give a special treat to our loved ones as often as possible.

    I like the quote by Samuel Johnson about London where I live. London is lively and full of heritage. I have visited many cities in other countries but I still love London most.

    Kind regards
    Richard

    Like

    • Evelyn says:

      I don’t know exactly why but I love quotes. I’ll buy a book of quotes without seeing them all or agreeing with everything I read. I think it’s the best way to get to know people and the way they think. I feel that a writer should know these things and they are very important in order to become a well-rounded person. We should always be willing to listen to other viewpoints. How else can we truly communicate ? I love to read your comments by the way. Your English is impeccable !
      Cheers ! Evelyn

      Like

Leave a Reply

