He abides

by Evelyn M. Wallace
(excerpt from my first book of poetry, Seasons of the Heart)

Night Sky with star

Across a dark, star-filled sky
a shooting star
soars
and falls
like a dying bird
in mid-flight
a wolf cries out his loneliness
to a pensive moon
while the crickets sing to one another
as though their existence
expires at the end of the song.
The day has been short
but the night will be long.
The stars continue a steady course
they sparkle as though
their wink
is the eternal promise
of God.
I believe even in my darkness
his light shines brighter
than ever.
that in my loneliest hour
he abides right
within my very soul.

(My book is still available, through myself, in first edition.
Just leave a comment along with your e-mail address, which will not be published and I will arrange for a book to be sent to you, wherever in this world you live. Promise.)

About Evelyn

The Castle Lady Official web site: www.ilovecastles.com other blogs: ilovecastles.blogspot.com evelynsrockpages.blogspot.com evelyns-nailsforlife.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

